Learning From LFNW (Linux Fest North West)

The organizers of the Fest did a Fantastic job. From the time that we arrived at around 9:45am we were treated more like friends or family by everyone that we met. I think part of there  success is the fact that the whole thing even though it is well organized is still a very relaxed atmosphere; almost reminds me of the 70’s back in Palo Alto California.

I think alot of there success is also due to the fact that they promo to all and for all..they have ads on the radio, Facebook, WordPress, Twitter ,and I am sure more, that I have been able to find..most of the non teckie promos were geared more towards family’s and Micro$oft users..so in their words..

“…free, and all ages are welcome. Registration is not required to attend—just show up and have fun!…”

“..Family event bring everyone…”

“…There are exhibits and presentations that will appeal to business people, students, hobbyists and families…”

Like I said in my previous post .. I still feel that here was one common thread that all the booths seemed to have a hard time with; Maybe because I was a Carny and a D.J. back in the day..I find it easy to talk to people strangers or not..if we are going to be running a booth, we need to be the ones reaching out to them not them to us..kind of like a pitch man does or a carny does or a D.J. does with music ..

The Organizer’s of the LFNW did a great job on reaching out to us and the community it is up to us to reach out to the community that they have brought to us…

One Response to “Learning From LFNW (Linux Fest North West)”

  1. Karsten 'quaid' Wade Says:

    Big +1 on your ideas for the booth and future FAD. …… I know how it feels to wander around and want to be asked what I am interested in, in a non-sales way, of course. I know how it feels to be on the other side of the table/booth, too.

    I noticed we fell in to a pattern that I have found successful at other events. One or two people did a great job of making sure everyone who came to the Fedora table was addressed, doing a triage or vetting of what they are interested in. There are always technical questions that drift out to a single person to answer — when we are lucky to have such a person at the booth. It’s nice to give that person a chance to listen to all conversations, make interjections, and get involved in a few in-depth answers that need that depth.

    For me, this was the first time that I was the person who received the deeper technical questions, and it was great to be involved in a side-effect mentoring. I didn’t feel I needed to tell anyone at the booth anything about how to interact with people. Perhaps it was the relative maturity level? For a while, I was the youngest guy at the booth! That doesn’t happen too often. 🙂

    Even better, I learned a few things that day, was tickled with some spontaneous ideas (such as Jeff’s using the speech bubble stickers to label the types of media), and actually felt as if I was able to help grow the other Fedorans experience without being heavy-nanded and didactic.

    The whole thing has me very excited about next year!

Leave a Reply

